9/11 First Responders Health Bill

Do you remember the “we’ll never forget” slogans and bumper stickers after the September 11, 2001 attacks on the World Trade Center, Pentagon and downing of United Airlines Flight 93 over Somerset County, Pennsylvania? Well it appears some elected politicians have already forgotten. About 40,000 first responders came to Ground Zero to help save lives and recover bodies from the attacks. Many of these heroes are coming up ill, some have died, from breathing in contaminants from the debris of the wreckage. Because of this a Bill was proposed and eventually passed, but is must be noted that it wasn’t a unanimous vote as you may have expected it would be. Below is a list of those that don’t think the First Responders deserve public healthcare for their efforts.

9/11 First Responders Health Bill – HR847

To amend the Public Health Service Act to extend and improve protections and services to first responders directly impacted by the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center in New York City on September 11, 2001.

Party Aye Nay Abstain
Democrats 175 1 79
Republicans 31 59 89

These are the NO VOTES:

Rep. Todd Akin (R-MO)
Rep. Rodney Alexander (R-LA)
Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-MN)
Rep. Spencer Bachus (R-AL)
Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD)
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)
Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Rep. John Boozman [R, AR-3]
Rep. Kevin Brady [R, TX-8]
Rep. Eric Cantor (R-VA)
Rep. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO)
Rep. Michael Conaway (R-TX)
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
Rep. Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)
Rep. John Fleming (R-LA)
Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ)
Rep. Robert Goodlatte (R-VA)
Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA)
Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY)
Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX)
Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
Rep. Walter Herger (R-CA)
Rep. Peter Hoekstra (R-MI)
Rep. Bob Inglis (R-SC)
Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS)
Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH)
Rep. Steve King (R-IA)
Rep. Jack Kingston (R-GA)
Rep. Steven LaTourette (R-OH)
Rep. Robert Latta (R-OH)
Rep. Jerry Lewis (R-CA)
Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
Rep. Donald Manzullo (R-IL)
Rep. Tom McClintock (R-CA)
Rep. Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI)
Rep. John Mica (R-FL)
Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
Rep. Sue Myrick (R-NC)
Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)
Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN)
Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL)
Rep. Dennis Rehberg (R-MT)
Rep. Harold Rogers (R-KY)
Rep. Edward Royce (R-CA)
Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA)
Rep. Jean Schmidt (R-OH)
Rep. Peter Sessions (R-TX)
Rep. William Shuster (R-PA)
Rep. Adrian Smith (R-NE)
Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-IN)
Rep. Gene Taylor (D-MS)
Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)
Rep. Todd Tiahrt (R-KS)
Rep. Frederick Upton (R-MI)
Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR)
Rep. Edward Whitfield (R-KY)
Rep. Addison Wilson (R-SC)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s